Drunk Souls Album Review: REVOLUTION

Drunk souls are an indie rock reggae band from Marselle, France, though their members are from many locations and cultures. When I heard the first song on their album, Drifter Song, I thought “here’s another reggae spinoff band.” I was quite judgmental, but I kept listening and the album turned into something else that was very interesting. They are more of a Gorillaz or Manu Chao type band with strange effects and whisper talk imbedded in the tracks. They even have a full horn section, which being a trumpet player, I am obviously excited about. “Human Race” is one of my favorites on the album featuring said horn section. Much like one of my favorites Manu Chao they sing in both English and French and by the third song, J’ai Fait un Reve, the album takes a sudden and amazing turn. This band is diverse both in sound and song writing and I think I will be listening for a long time to come.


Like them on Facebook
http://www.drunksouls.com

Leave a Reply

